John The Baptizer: A BABY OF PROMISE, A TYPE OF CHRIST – Sermon for 12-21-16- Luke 1:5-25 – (AdvMW4)

john

John The Baptizer: A Baby of Promise. A Type of Christ.
 
Old Testament Lesson: Isaiah 40:3-8
3 A voice cries:“In the wilderness prepare the way of the LORD; make straight in the desert a highway for our God.
4 Every valley shall be lifted up, and every mountain and hill be made low; the uneven ground shall become level,and the rough places a plain.
5 And the glory of the LORD shall be revealed,and all flesh shall see it together,for the mouth of the LORD has spoken.”
6  A voice says, “Cry!” And I said, “What shall I cry?”  All flesh is grass, and all its beauty is like the flower of the field.
7 The grass withers, the flower fades when the breath of the LORD blows on it;surely the people are grass.
8 The grass withers, the flower fades,but the word of our God will stand forever.
P: O Lord have mercy on us.
C: Thanks be to God
 
Epistle Lesson: Acts 11:11-18
11 And behold, at that very moment three men arrived at the house in which we were, sent to me from Caesarea. 12 And the Spirit told me to go with them, making no distinction. These six brothers also accompanied me, and we entered the man’s house. 13 And he told us how he had seen the angel stand in his house and say, ‘Send to Joppa and bring Simon who is called Peter; 14 he will declare to you a message by which you will be saved, you and all your household.’ 15 As I began to speak, the Holy Spirit fell on them just as on us at the beginning. 16 And I remembered the word of the Lord, how he said, ‘John baptized with water, but you will be baptized with the Holy Spirit.’ 17 If then God gave the same gift to them as he gave to us when we believed in the Lord Jesus Christ, who was I that I could stand in God’s way?” 18 When they heard these things they fell silent. And they glorified God, saying, “Then to the Gentiles also God has granted repentance that leads to life.”
P: O Lord have mercy on us.
C: Thanks be to God
 
Gospel Lesson: Luke 1:5-25
5 In the days of Herod, king of Judea, there was a priest named Zechariah, of the division of Abijah. And he had a wife from the daughters of Aaron, and her name was Elizabeth. 6 And they were both righteous before God, walking blamelessly in all the commandments and statutes of the Lord. 7 But they had no child, because Elizabeth was barren, and both were advanced in years.
8 Now while he was serving as priest before God when his division was on duty, 9 according to the custom of the priesthood, he was chosen by lot to enter the temple of the Lord and burn incense. 10 And the whole multitude of the people were praying outside at the hour of incense. 11 And there appeared to him an angel of the Lord standing on the right side of the altar of incense. 12 And Zechariah was troubled when he saw him, and fear fell upon him. 13 But the angel said to him, “Do not be afraid, Zechariah, for your prayer has been heard, and your wife Elizabeth will bear you a son, and you shall call his name John. 14 And you will have joy and gladness, and many will rejoice at his birth, 15 for he will be great before the Lord. And he must not drink wine or strong drink, and he will be filled with the Holy Spirit, even from his mother’s womb. 16 And he will turn many of the children of Israel to the Lord their God, 17 and he will go before him in the spirit and power of Elijah, to turn the hearts of the fathers to the children, and the disobedient to the wisdom of the just, to make ready for the Lord a people prepared.”
18 And Zechariah said to the angel, “How shall I know this? For I am an old man, and my wife is advanced in years.” 19 And the angel answered him, “I am Gabriel. I stand in the presence of God, and I was sent to speak to you and to bring you this good news. 20 And behold, you will be silent and unable to speak until the day that these things take place, because you did not believe my words, which will be fulfilled in their time.” 21 And the people were waiting for Zechariah, and they were wondering at his delay in the temple. 22 And when he came out, he was unable to speak to them, and they realized that he had seen a vision in the temple. And he kept making signs to them and remained mute. 23 And when his time of service was ended, he went to his home.
24 After these days his wife Elizabeth conceived, and for five months she kept herself hidden, saying, 25 “Thus the Lord has done for me in the days when he looked on me, to take away my reproach among people.”
P: O Lord have mercy on us.
C: Thanks be to God
Psalm 3
      1       O LORD, how many are my foes!
      Many are rising against me;
      2       many are saying of my soul, 
      “There is no salvation for him in God.” Selah 
       3       But you, O LORD, are a shield about me,
      my glory, and the lifter of my head.
        4       I cried aloud to the LORD, 
      and he answered me from his holy hill. Selah 
      5       I lay down and slept;
      I woke again, for the LORD sustained me.
      6       I will not be afraid of many thousands of people 
      who have set themselves against me all around. 
      7       Arise, O LORD!
      Save me, O my God!
                  For you strike all my enemies on the cheek;
      you break the teeth of the wicked.
       8       Salvation belongs to the LORD; 
      your blessing be on your people! Selah 
Glory be to the Father, and to the Son and to the Holy Spirit;
as it was in the beginning, is now and will be forever. Amen.
Leave a Reply

